In February, I went to our friend Tiina’s wedding to Brian at Turtle Bay Resort in Oahu, HI. It was a happy event that went off without too many issues, but I would have loved for Holly to be able to come. Alas, she had to stay home with the children for various logistical reasons. In the end it was probably best that I went by myself, as it gave me some much needed solitude.

I spent a good deal of time sitting on the point on the north side of the hotel contemplating both the nature of the universe and my place in it. I took the video below there but it doesn’t really do it justice. It was really quite peaceful.

Thinking back, that’s probably when I unconsciously started to make the decision to lead a simpler life. I realized when I was there that money doesn’t really bring actual value to my life. I’ve spent my entire life using money as a scorecard, trying to prove everyone wrong. Now I realize that I don’t need to prove anyone wrong, I just need to make myself happy. That may sound selfish to some but I have come to understand that I can’t take care of anyone else unless I take care of myself first.

